Swimspired by Aart!

My Swimspiration is Aart Looye. I know this will raise a few eyebrows, but bare with me.

Aart had a stroke Friday, February 13th this year. He was completely paralyzed on his left side, unable to move his left arm and feet. He was first in the neurological intensive care at VGH and later transferred to Delta hospital and than on 13th March to Laurel Place (High-intensity Rehab Unit of Surrey memorial Hospital). It is more like a boot camp for stroke patients than a hospital.

Aart, true to form worked hard and was determined to facilitate his recovery. He keeps talking of going to the Provincials. Well, on the 25th this month, he finally made it to the YMCA pool. Have look at the YouTube video. Seeing Aart swim gives me inspiration, though I doubt that I could do what he has achieved in just 48 days after his massive stroke. I am sure you will all acknowledge that he is special.

– submitted by Ivan Szasz, UBC Masters

2 Comments on “Swimspired by Aart!”

  1. Lis Farrell says:

    Please add my name as being inspired by Aart’s determination.
    Aart is one of those guys, who puts a smile on my face, as he is always so very positive.
    I have no doubt, that Aart will fully recover and make it to the Provincials.
    Unfortunately I won’t be there to meet him, as my shoulder problems have kept me from competing for a while now.
    Still swimming but not training.
    Lis

  2. Sally Hogg says:

    Aart, John and I wish you a speedy recovery. We have just heard of your stroke. Stay strong and don’t give up. Swimming will help you. Best wishes. John and Sally Hogg


Leave a Reply

