2015 MSABC Provincials Competition: Meet A Few Of The Competitors!

We’re profiling a few Nanaimo Ebbtides swimmers who will be competing at the Provincial meet in Nanaimo, next weekend. If you’re going to be swimming at the event and would like to introduce yourself on the blog, please let us know! Contact: eerkendy@yahoo.ca


Ian Burvill

  1. How many times have you participated in the Provincials?
    33 times.
  2. What will you be competing in this year?
    Freestyle, breast stroke, and butterfly.
  3. What is your favourite stroke, an why?
    Butterfly. I am competitive in my age group (current BC record holder) and it feels great for the first 40 meters.
  4. What motivates you to compete?
    Swimming with and competing against the many swimming friends at the meets.
  5. What is your greatest accomplishment in competition?
    Setting a new BC record in both the short and long course 50 Butterfly five years ago. They still stand today but will certainly be broken next year.
  6. Standout moment of competition?
    Swimming in a relay at the World Masters Games in Sydney, AU. and finishing with a Silver medal and a fourth in the 50 Breast.


Patrick Ryan

  1. How long have you been an Ebbtides member? Why did you join? What keeps you coming back each year?
    I’ve been an Ebbtides member since the fall of 2006. I joined as I was a competitive swimmer when I was younger and I enjoyed it. I also was in need of fitness.
  2. How many times have you participated in the Provincials?
    Three times. Kamloops in 2008, Victoria in 2012, and Vancouver in 2013.
  3. What is your favourite stroke, an why?
    Shorter distances, like freestyle and butterfly. I like the shorter distance as they’re over quickly! I enjoy the IM (individual medley) as well, because it works all the strokes.
  4. What motivates you to compete?
    I like racing and trying to improve (or at least not get slower) as I get older.
  5. What is your greatest accomplishment in competition?
    Two Golds for relays at Nationals in 2010. A provincial relay record in 2012, and individual firsts at Provincials.
  6. Standout moment of competition?
    Anytime there is someone over 80 swimming, I am very impressed! There have been swimmers in their mid-90s who compete in the 800 and 1500 events. Wow!


Brittany Arruda

  1. How long have you been an Ebbtides member? Why did you join? What keeps you coming back each year?
    I have been a member for over three years, I started January of 2012. I joined the Ebbtides because I like to swim, it is the best kind of exercise and I have fun with the swimmers. The thing that keeps me coming back are meeting new swimmers, going to the meets and, of course, all the nice swimmers I have gotten to know and swimming with them!
  2. How many times have you participated in the Provincials?
    This is my first year.
  3. What will you be competing in this year?
    I am going to do the 1500 free, 800 free, 400 free, 200 free,100 free, 50 free and 100 backstroke.
  4. What is your favourite stroke, an why?
    My favourite stroke is freestyle. I like it because I have a really big kick and I am fast at it.
  5. What motivates you to compete?
    I like to beat my times, seeing other swimmers on my team competing, I also like swimming.
  6. Standout moment of competition?
    When I went to the English Bay Swim meet I was swimming the 800 freestyle and there was a swimmer in the lane next to me who was right at my pace. We were both going for first and second place and lapping the other swimmers in our heat. I got second, and ended up beating my time.
  7. What is your greatest accomplishment in competition?
    Beating my times when I am competing.
Leave a Reply

